h1

May 26, 2003

So I should have made it clear: the NSM is not devised or intended to serve as a descriptor of culture, it does not claim to describe national characters or anything like that. What it is created for, and what I believe it does, is to describe cultural key concepts in a non-ethnocentric way. It’s intended for the use of linguists, to describe speech acts.

So maybe my observations about the freedom script in the previous posting were not quite relevant; the concept is quite correctly described I believe, and I am not sure how much it matters that it’s not realised in many people’s realisation of the concept.

And I think I should stop talking shop in this blog. It’s impossible for me to do it without falling into jargon, it seems. Possibly because I’m not entirely sure of what I’m writing about.

Leave a Reply

