h1

November 28, 2005

Edith Sandberg passed away on Nov 1, 2005. She was 101. The funeral was last Friday; it is not a tragedy when a very old person dies, but nonetheless it is sad, and pretty much impossible to understand when somebody who has always been there, isn’t. The last time I saw her was on Oct 4, when she turned 101. She talked about how lucky she was, to have relatives and friends visiting so she never had to feel alone, and how she still had her eyesight and hearing and what a blessing that was. She looked tired, though.

My sisters and I, and our respective husbands, sang at the funeral: Eggehorn’s Var Inte Rädd and Westley’s Lead Me Lord (in Swedish). My voice didn’t like it much, but it felt like a good thing to do all the same, and it was appreciated by the other funeral guests, too.

On Saturday and Sunday, however, I couldn’t sing. So there was no Christmas Oratory for me this year, which also made me quite sad. I’d been looking forward to it.

Happier times ahead, however. It’s finally FINALLY snowed properly, and it will soon be Lucia (my voice will have to be ok by then!) – and I’m writing this in the light of the single candle of the first of Advent.

Leave a Reply

