h1

January 23, 2007

Recent reads:

* The entire Aubrey-Maturin series (apart from the unfinished one), 20 novels. It wasn’t the first time I read the series, and I predict that it won’t be the last time either; though next time I probably won’t read all 20 in a row without other reading in between. The books are exciting, they are well-researched, and they are laugh-out-loud funny. They contain some of the most memorable characters in any fiction I’ve ever read — as well as very vivid portraits of life aboard a ship during the Napoleonic Wars. I can’t believe I ran out of Aubrey-Maturin books. Waah!

* Santiago by Mike Resnick. It’s a tall tale, a yarn in the tradition of Paul Bunyan or Joe Magarac, with larger-than-life characters livin’ on the frontier — except the frontier is the edge of the civilized parts of the galaxy. It’s a fun story, the kind of story where the plot holes don’t matter, and it was an enjoyable read if not at all in the league of the previous novels I read.

At the moment I’m reading Philip Reeve’s Mortal Engines, a young adult SF novel which is quite excellent. I can’t believe I hadn’t even heard of it before.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: