h1

You’d love to buy a nice egg beater, wouldn’t you, fuzzy face?

February 12, 2008

It is rather bizarre to hear an American narrating Pride and Prejudice. She’s not at all a bad narrator. On the contrary, she reads very competently and the recording is a labour of love. The problem lies with me – I just can’t listen to that book read in an American accent. I got as far as “Have you heard that Netherfield Park is let at last?” before switching it off. I suppose this is terribly narrow of me, although of course P&P is a special case, because I have seen the BBC series from 1995 so many times that those actors are become the real people in the book. (I will listen to her narration of Huckleberry Finn however.)

Do other people think about accents like that? To the point where the “wrong” accent really jars and makes an audio book, a movie or a play less enjoyable? Frodo in the Lord of the Rings movie, Elijah Wood, is another example – his accent (as well as his age) was so very wrong for the part and I couldn’t stop thinking about it. I would not be able to listen to a Scanian narrate a book by Torgny Lindgren, either, i somebody would come up with the bizarre idea of recording such a thing. I really take these things too seriously, don’t I – it makes me enjoy things less! But then on the other hand, hearing Torgny Lindgren himself read one of his books, or David Case read P G Wodehouse, is such a pleasure. I guess it is related to listening to a lot of a particular kind of music and losing the ability to enjoy an inferior recording.

The title of this post? It’s not at all related to the contents.

2 comments

  1. You’re just trying to check whether I’m reading Néablog! :p


  2. Yes!



Leave a Reply

