h1

Paraphrased conversation

February 19, 2008

Colleague (slightly worriedly) : So how did your meeting with the supervisor go??
Me: It went really well, as a matter of fact. I have lots to do still, of course, and she still isn’t completely happy with my structure, though it’s improved since the previous version.
Colleague (encouragingly) : Well that’s excellent.
Me: *giggles*
Colleague (suspiciously) : What are you laughing at?
Me: Oh, just, she was telling me a funny story about when you wrote your thesis…
Colleague (in mock outrage) : There was NOTHING FUNNY about when I wrote my thesis!!

So yeah, it’s going ok. I am trying not to focus on where I ought to have been by now, and more on how to get to where I need to be. (My supervisor is really good at helping with that kind of focusing. There wouldn’t be any point in her berating me for being tardy, because I beat myself up over that with great skill, but that doesn’t stop lots of other supervisors from doing that sort of thing to their students anyway.) And apparently the issues I have right now are the ones everybody has been through, whatever they try to claim afterwards.

Leave a Reply

