h1

Yay backfix and free battery

March 4, 2008

Today I saw the naprapathist, which was good. My lower back, which has been one of the most painful areas recently, is now much better. I have seen about three different naprapathists before in my life, I think – the last time was probably 10 years ago – and this was the first time the naprapathist was younger than myself. Turned out we went to the same school, he slightly later than me, so as he was tormenting me we chatted amicably about which teachers we remembered and things like that. Anyway, despite his extreme youth he knew his stuff. I’m going back there on Monday.

Yesterday, I went to an Apple service place to ask them about why my computer no longer warns me before the battery runs out of power, and why it dies when the display says that I still have almost 30% battery time left. I had already bought a new battery, on Saturday, but wanted to find out about the battery warning or lack thereof. The service technician looked at the battery and its serial number and told me I could get a new one under my computer’s warranty, because the one I had was in a series of faulty batteries. So I got a new one right there in the shop, and got to leave the old one there instead of sending it in myself. All for free. Luckily I hadn’t started using the new battery I bought, it was still in its unopened box, so today I returned it and got the money back. (I’m not sure how a faulty battery, the actual hardware, can cause the battery warning to break, and the service technician said it might not be the battery but a Leopard bug. I haven’t checked to see if that problem is still there.)

One comment

  1. At least on the LiIon batteries I built into one of our applications a few years ago, an electronic inside the battery does all the charging / determining how much power is left / … to make sure the battery is not damaged by (faulty) external charging equipment.



Leave a Reply

